Site hosted by Build your free website today!

Welcome to my first website.

It gets better every time...

Click below to find interesting information of some of the common IT equipments being used today.

(Network Hub continued…)

Hubs classify as Layer 1 devices in the OSI model. At the physical layer, hubs can support little in the way of sophisticated networking. Hubs do not read any of the data passing through them and are not aware of their source or destination. Essentially, a hub simply receives incoming packets, possibly amplifies the electrical signal, and broadcasts these packets out to all devices on the network - including the one that originally sent the packet.

Technically speaking, three different types of hubs exist:

1. Passive
2. Active
3. Intelligent

Passive hubs do not amplify the electrical signal of incoming packets before broadcasting them out to the network. Active hubs, on the other hand, do perform this amplification, as does a different type of dedicated network device called a repeater. Some people[who?] use the terms concentrator when referring to a passive hub and multiport repeater when referring to an active hub.

Intelligent hubs add extra features to an active hub that are of particular importance to businesses. An intelligent hub typically is stackable (built in such a way that multiple units can be placed one on top of the other to conserve space). It also typically includes remote management capabilities via SNMP and virtual LAN (VLAN) support.

Hubs remain a very popular device for small networks because of their low cost

IT Equipments/Network Hub